Red Zone League Articles

RZL All Decade Team:: 2010s (Quarterbacks)
By Keith Van Wagner
Special to

RZL All-Decade Team – 2010s (Quarterbacks)

This is the first article in what hopefully will be a longer series of articles. In an effort to explore our league’s history, I’m developing an All-Decade team for the years 2010 to 2019. To do so I have had to sift through a lot of our archives, so it’s likely there are some errors. At the same time, we have a very rich history with many talented players. So it’s very likely that a few were excluded that some think should be included, especially since each of us may value some elements of the game over others. Either way, this series is meant to be fu and enlightening. I hope you enjoy.

Here are the Quarterbacks of the Decade

Ben Rothlisberger (Steelers, 2010-2018). There are few players in RZL history who are so universally respected as Big Ben. Rothlisberger quarterbacked the great Steeler teams of the early days of the league, which during one remarkable stretch went 47-1 in the regular season. However, much of that dominance came before the 2010s. Still, during the 2010s the Steelers managed 6 seasons of 10 wins or more, including a Super Bowl win in 2011. Big Ben’s legacy during this decade includes an amazing 7 Pro Bowl appearances. His legacy is tarnished slightly by his lack of success in the Playoffs. The great Steeler teams that lead by Rothlisberger ended up going 7-9 in the playoffs, including 6 one and dones.
Stats (2010-2019)
Yards Passing: 35,644 (2nd for the Decade)
Pro Bowls: 7 (2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017)
Awards: 2011 MVP, 2011 Offensive POTY, 2011 Best QB
League Leader in Passing: None
League Leader in TDs: 2011, 2017
League Leader in Rating: 2011
Playoff Record: 6-5
Super Bowl Record: 1-0

Drew Stanton, Panthers (2010-2019). The 2010s were Stanton’s glory days, of a long career that spanned 16 seasons in Carolina. During that time Stanton had 5 seasons of 4,000 yards or more and 6 seasons of 30 or more touchdown passes. He’s also one of only 2 QBs two win 2 MVP awards during the Decade. Interestingly, Stanton is the only player to take his team to Super Bowls in 3 different decades, the 2000s, 2010s and 2020s.
Stats (2010-2019)
Yards Passing: 38,046 (1st for the Decade)
Pro Bowls: 5 (2011, 2012, 2015, 2017, 2018)
Awards: 2012 MVP; 2015 MVP; 2015 Offensive POTY; 2015 Best QB
League Leader in Passing: None.
League Leader in TDs: 2015
League Leader in Rating: 2015
Playoff Record: 5-4
Super Bowl Record: 0-1

Eli Manning, Giants, Browns, Packers, Broncos (2010-2017). Peyton’s younger brother represented himself well in the RZL. During the Decade, Eli lead three of the four teams he played for to the Playoffs, including a trip to the Super Bowl in 2010. Manning only played 8 seasons in the Decade, but managed to make the Pro Bowl 4 times. He also managed to be the MVP twice, but for 2 different teams. Though overshadowed a bit by Big Ben, Eli was one of the best, especially in the first half of the Decade, winning awards in 2010, 2013 and 2014.
Stats (2010-2019)
Yards Passing: 31,500 (7th for the Decade)
Pro Bowls: 4 (2010, 2011, 2013, 2014)
Awards: 2010 MVP; 2010 Offensive POTY; 2010 Best QB; 2013 Best QB; 2014 MVP
League Leader in Passing: None.
League Leader in TDs: 2010, 2016
League Leader in Rating: 2013
Playoff Record: 6-5
Super Bowl Record: 0-1

Others Considered: Sam Bradford was a helluva QB who finished 3rd in passing yards for the Decade, lead the league in passing yards in 2012 and went to 2 Pro Bowls…Matt Flynn finished 5th in passing yards for the Decade, won a Super Bowl, lead the league in TDs one year, made 3 Pro Bowls and was voted Best QB in 2016…Brady Quinn led the league in passer rating twice, went to 3 Pro Bowls, and was named the Best QB in 2014…Chase Holbrook led the league in passing yards in 2014 and 2017, led the league in TDs once, went to 3 Pro Bowls and was the 2013 Offensive Player of the Year.
Discuss this Article in our Forums Replies - 2 :: Views - 69

Red Zone League Articles

Powered by League Pulse.League Pulse was written by Brad Mallett (btmlltt). Design by Odawg. Copyright © 2007.